Friday, May 12, 2017

Everything You Need to Know About the Stages of Montessori Curriculum


Children are born with the potential to learn anything. Although they arrive in this world as beings that are incomplete, they, however, possess an amazing ability to develop and construct themselves into fully functioning and formed individuals. Compared to adults, who have the tendency to learn in an immobile state, Maria Montessori was able to observe that babies and younger children learn well through purposeful movement, discovery, and exploration. When a child grows up, especially during the first six years of their life, this is a critical stage of their learning. At this age, unconscious learning soon develops into a conscious level. Maria believed that the first six years of the life of a child are crucial to their development mentally.
When you enroll your child into one of the best Montessori schools in Atlanta, the role of the teachers is to protect each child and ensure they engage in important tasks that help to develop their critical thinking and other aspects. As a parent, this guide will tell you everything you need to know about the stages of the Montessori Curriculum and how it could be beneficial for your child.

The Stages of Montessori Curriculum

 The Milton Montessori curriculum, the classrooms, and schools have unique structures set according to ages, which correspond to the development stages of a child. These include:
·         Infants
·         Toddlers (a program that lasts approximately a year for ages 2-3)
·         Primary (for ages 3-6 and a 3-year program)
·         Lower Elementary (for ages 6-9 and approximately a 3-year program)
·         Upper Elementary (a 3-year program for children of ages 9-12)
The good thing about Montessori classrooms is they are non-graded and mixed ages make up a classroom. Based on the individual’s readiness, children move to the next level, which teachers evaluate as well as parents.

The Toddler and Primary Level

Maria deciphered this is the age of the absorbent mind, an age where each child possesses the ability to learn and absorb from the environment. This time is a period that encourages children to practice discipline and boosts their natural desire to become curious to learn new things. At this age, what the hand does, the brain remembers. For children to reach their true potential, the Montessori classroom must be a well-equipped environment, with concrete complete sensorial materials that have unique designs suitable for each stage of the development.
In the classroom, the Montessori teacher’s role remains that of a guide, who encourage children to choose materials and engage in further exploration. In this scenario, children work spontaneously, independently, and choose to work with the materials the Montessori provides at their own pace, thus boosting their creative energy. This encourages self-discipline, independence, confidence, and more.

Learning in the Elementary Years

In this stage, children move forward from the use of concrete materials to abstract thoughts. The activities and the lessons no longer need much repetition and the children begin to ask others eternal questions such as who am I?  Where do I come from?  They learn to gain confidence in themselves and develop the ability to see things from a different perspective. They are no longer solitary beings; rather they enjoy spending time and socializing with their peers.
As a parent, you need to know that Montessori education is something that shapes your child for life by addressing key areas needed to make them smarter and intelligent. Children move from sensory experiences to hand on approaches that help to build their critical thinking. Therefore, if you are planning to enroll your child into one, rest assured that you are making the right decision!

Give your opinion or share your knowledge and expertise